Syracuse Chiefs: A Long History of Excellence

Syracuse Chiefs: A Long History of Excellence

The Syracuse Chiefs is a baseball team playing in the minor league out of based in Syracuse in New York. The team is the Washington Nationals’ affiliate. The team is part of the International League (IL). They call the NBT Bank Stadium their home. Before, they played their home games at the P&C Stadium, in the northern part of downtown in Syracuse. Syracuse is founded in 1934 and was renamed the Chiefs, when Jersey City Skeeters moved to Syracuse. However, the team has been playing as a professional baseball team way back 1877.

Leagues Played For: Syracuse had first played in the League Alliance in 1877 as the Stars. The team had two versions of the Stars. The first one played in the National League (1879) while the other one played in the American Association (1890). The Stars were also members of the other leagues like the New York State League through the year 1917. The team had competed in the IL from 1918-1927. The Stars was moved down to the New York-Penn League for seasons when the IL franchise was moved to Montreal where they were named as the Montreal Royals in 1928. The team was also a part of the Class A Eastern League from 1956-1957.

Notable Players: Some of the Syracuse team’s most well-known players include AJ Burnett, Chris Carpenter, Bobby Cox, Carlos Delgado, Tony Fernandez, Roy Halladay, Jimmy Key, and many more. These players went on to experience success in the major leagues. Some of them received awards which are still impressive up to this day. Some of them even moved up to being a manager, showing that they’re more than sluggers.

Accomplishments and Championships: Syracuse Chiefs has won a total of eight League Titles, but the last one was way back in 1976. They also won one Division Title in 1989. The Chiefs also won five championships in 1955 and have won the Governors’ Cup (the IL championship) eight times. The team just recently celebrated 50 years of being a community based team last 2010, since they became a community based team last 1961. In that year, they wore 1961 jerseys for their Thursday home games to commemorate the occasion. The year 2011 was another year of commemoration, and once again they wore throwback jerseys for their Thursday home games. This time, they commemorated their last championship team in the IL Governors’ Cup, which happened 35 years ago.

This entry was posted in Baseball. Bookmark the permalink.